MFA The FA Trophy Rd I                                                                            


9 September 2018 – Gozo Stadium

SK Victoria W: 0

M.T. Towns, A.G. Attard, J.W. Meilak, A.J. Obaje, S. Harland, M. Bamba, N. Vella, A. Touarha (P. Dordevic), D.U. Monday, G. Cardona (A. Attard), A. Adesina.

Ghaxaq FC:  0

Fardell, C. Xuereb, L.N. Grech, C. Grixti (L. Ngiah), I. Muscat, R. Micallef, N. Vella, D. Agius, N. Tabone, I. Calleja, R. Gatt (M. Busutill).

Ghaxaq win 4-1 on penalties


Ghaxaq FC obtained qualification to the second round of the competition with a win over SK Victoria Wanderers in the penalty shoot-out.  The final score after extra time remained blocked in a goalless draw despite the fact that for more than an hour of the match the Wanderers dominated over their opponents.  However, the visitors were rewarded for their determination and earned the victory by scoring four consecutive penalty kicks.  The main protagonist in Ghaxaq’s win was undoubtedly the goalkeeper Ludvic Fardell who made a series of fine saves during the match and also saved Victoria’s first penalty kick in the shoot-out.

Play for most of the first half took place mainly in the midfield but the Wanderers created three very good scoring opportunities.  On 8 minutes a shot by Ajibade Adesina following a personal action ended wide and on 42 minutes an attempt by Gabriel Cardona ended just over the crossbar.  The Wanderers lost a golden scoring opportunity during stoppage time before the break when a shot by Gabriel Cardona was partially saved by goalie Ludvic Fardell and form the rebound Aaron Touarha incredibly lifted the ball over the crossbar with an open goal at his mercy.

The hosts took full command of play from the early stages of the second period but goalie Ludivc Fardell was in excellent form and denied Victoria’s strikers rom scoring on several occasions following efforts by Aud-gustine James Obaje, Aaron Touarha, Ajibade Adesina, Sam Harland and substitute Predrag Dordevic.  Ghaxaq’s best opportunity to open the score arrived in the first minute of stoppage time before the end of the regular time through a low shot by Ian Calleja that was saved by goalie Matthew Towns.

Victoria continued to produce danger inside Ghaxaq’s area throughout the extra time but the strikers continued to be erratic in their finishing so that attempts by Aud-gustine Onbaje, Predrag Dordevic and Ajibade Adesina failed to hit the target.  The qualification was therefore decided in a penalty shoot-out where Ghaxawq scored foru penalty kicks through Ian Calleja, Nigel Vella, Rio Micallef and Dean Agius.  Victoria’s first penalty kick by David Udo Monday was saved by the goalkeeper, Predrag Dpordevic scored his penalty kick while Moussa Bamba’s shot from the spot kick hit the post.

Referee: Slawomir Olucha

FA Trophy 2018-2019