GFA awards Individual Honours for Season 2019/2020

by | Oct 7, 2020 | News

The Gozo Football Association announced the names of the players who won the individual honours related to the season 2019/2020 and held a low profile ceremony to present the trophies to the winners.  The best players for the BOV Gozo Football League of the first and second division were selected from a voting process which involved all the clubs.

GFA President Dr Azzopardi Presents Chris Mercieca of Victoria Hotspurs the GFA Player of the Year Award. Photo: Anthony Cassar

The honour of the GFA Player of the Year went to Christian Mercieca of Victoria Hotspurs.  This was the second time in the last three seasons that Mercieca won the honour.  Nadur’s Shaun Attard and Luke Tabone placed second and third respectively.

Joseph Zammit of Sannat Lions won the GFA Player of the Year for the second division for the second consecutive season.  Samuel Azzopardi of Oratory Youths placed second and Angelo Brignoli of St Lawrence Spurs placed third.

The President of the Gozo Football Association also presented trophies for the top scorers of the season 2019/2020.  Igor Nedeljkovic of Ghajnsielem was the Top Scorer of the BOV Gozo Football League of the first division with 20 goals, while Ebube Ralph Okpokwu of Sannat Lions was the Top Scorer of the BOV Gozo Football League of the second division with 22 goals.


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Get the latest

Subscribe to Web Push Notifications to get the latest GFA news, results and updates!

Related posts

GFA roundUP continues on TVM2

GFA roundUP continues on TVM2

GFA roundUp is back on national television for it's 9th season. The program, produced by CVC Media, covers matches and events in the Gozitan football scene. Mark Cini's weekly roundup is broadcasted every Friday at 8.15pm on TVM2.

read more
GYFA Individual Honours

GYFA Individual Honours

On Wednesday, the GYFA held a small ceremony to award the best Youth FA players from the previous season, 2019-2020. The mementoes were presented by Gozo Youth FA President Paul Galea. Under 15 Player of the Year - Gabriel Vella - Oratory Youths Top Scorer - Neil Said...

read more

Darren Cassar

Article's Author
GFA Photographer and Website Admin