MFA The FA Trophy Prel. Rd


2 September 2018 – Kercem Ajax Stadium

Qala S FC: 1 (J. Buttigieg 28’)

Buttigieg, S. Sillato, Gafa, F. Mumford, M. Buttigieg (F. Attard), M.P. Mumford, R. Grima, D. Bellotti (J. Mifsud), J. Buttigieg (A. Tramboo), J.L. Gil, O. Farrugia C..

Gharghur FC: 3 (N. Tasic 14’, 42’pen.; O. Anyaso Izuchukwu 68’)

R.G. Micallef, S. Vella, J. Lovegrove (M. Schembri), C. Zammit, D. Mifsud, N. Tasic, A. Zarb, O. Anyaso Izuchukwu (J. Mifsud), D. Marsala, S. Bonello, D.V. Marsala (L. Pullicino).


Gharghur made through the Preliminary Round of the FA Trophy with a 3-1 win over GFA’s second division side Qala Saints.  Gharghur paved the way to the qualification with a determined performance during the first half where they managed to take the break with a one-goal lead.  The visitors were in the driving seat throughout the second period particularly when they had an extra player on the field for the last 35 minutes of the encounter.

Gharghur opened the score on 14 minutes through Nikola Tasic but Qala had a good reaction and levelled the score on 28 minutes through Joseph Buttigieg.  Gharghur however regained the lead on 42 minutes when the referee awarded a penalty for a foul by Chris Gafa and Nikola Tasic converted from the spot kick.  The match continued to be well contested after the break but Qala were reduced to ten players on 55 minutes when Samuel Sillato was sent off for a second bookable offence following comments towards the supporters.  Gharghur took advantage of the extra player on the field and made sure of the victory with a third goal that arrived on 68 minutes through Owen Anyaso Izuchukwu.

Referee: Kurt Saliba

FA Trophy 2018-2019