2019-20 FA Trophy opening series brackets shaped

by | Aug 8, 2019 | 19/20, Fixtures, News

The draws of the Preliminary, First and Second Round of the 2019-20 FA Trophy were made on Thursday at the Trophies Lounge.

Like last season, 67 clubs are competing in the FA Trophy, including all the teams from the Gozo FA Leagues. The draws were conducted by Dr Angelo Chetcuti, the General Secretary of the Malta FA, and Rodney Pisani, the Deputy General Secretary of the Association who heads the Competitions Department.

The clubs in the BOV First, Second and Third Divisions together with those from the Gozo FA were involved in the draws of the opening three rounds. The preliminary and first-round meetings will be contested by the 14 teams from the Gozo FA and the 12 teams from the BOV Third Division League. The teams in the First (14) and Second Division (13) leagues start their cup campaign in the second round.

The 2019-20 FA Trophy competition kicks off on September 6-8 with eight matches from the preliminary round followed by the first round ties, on September 13-15, and the second round fixtures from October 25-27.

The final is scheduled to take place on May 9, 2020.

Stay up to date with Gozo’s Football latest by subscribing to gozofa.com web notifications

FA Trophy 2018-2019

Gozitan Teams (from Gozo FA) are bold.


Kirkop United vs Kerċem Ajax
SK Victoria Wanderers vs Għajnsielem
St Laurence Spurs vs Xewkija Tigers
Ta’ Xbiex SC vs Munxar Falcons
Siġġiewi vs Marsaskala
Għaxaq vs Żebbuġ Rovers
Xagħra United vs Sta Venera Lightnings
Victoria Hotspurs vs Mdina Knights

Ties to be played on September 6-8, 2019



Għarb Rangers vs St Laurence Spurs/Xewkija Tigers
Nadur Youngsters vs Oratory Youths
Kirkop United/Kerċem Ajax vs Ta’ Xbiex SC/Munxar Falcons
Msida St Joseph vs Attard
Sannat Lions vs Għargħur
Siġġiewi/Marsaskala vs Victoria Hotspurs/Mdina Knights
Mtarfa vs Għaxaq/Żebbuġ Rovers
Qala Saints vs Dingli Swallows
Xagħra United/Sta Venera Lightnings vs SK Victoria Wanderers/Għajnsielem

Ties to be played on September 13-15, 2019



Qala/Dingli vs Mqabba
Kirkop/Kerċem Ajax or Ta’ Xbiex SC/Munxar vs Fgura United
Marsaxlokk vs St Andrews
San Ġwann vs Marsa
Pembroke Athleta vs Xgħajra Tornados
Xagħra/Sta Venera or SK Victoria/Għajnsielem vs Siġġiewi/Marsaskala or Victoria H./Mdina
Rabat Ajax vs Sannat/Għargħur
Żejtun Corinthians vs Naxxar Lions
Vittoriosa Stars vs Nadur/Oratory
Mġarr United vs Mtarfa/Għaxaq/Żebbuġ Rovers
Qrendi vs Lija Athletic
Birżebbuġa St Peters vs Għarb/St Laurence/Xewkija
Msida/Attard vs Żabbar St Patrick
Pietà Hotspurs vs St George’s
Żebbuġ Rangers vs Kalkara United
Qormi vs Luqa St Andrew’s
Mellieħa vs Swieqi United
Żurrieq vs Melita

Ties to be played on October 25-27, 2019

Via MFA.com

Post photo: Dominic Aquilina/MFA

Be the number 1 fan!

Support your team by attending matches in person. You can purchase tickets online from the GFA Website.


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Get the latest

Subscribe to Web Push Notifications to get the latest GFA news, results and updates!

Related posts

Zebbug end the competition with a win

Zebbug end the competition with a win

1 October 2022 GFA 2nd Division Challenge Cup (MD 5) Kercem Arkafort Stadium Zebbug Rovers FC : 1 Gharb Rangers FC : 0 79’ (1-0) Lorenzo Atzori Zebbug R: F. Portelli, P. Spiteri, I. Buttigieg, M. Formosa, E. Bugeja, R. Sacco (O. Atzori), R. Saliba, L. Atzori (O....

read more
Munxar, St Lawrence ends in a goalless draw

Munxar, St Lawrence ends in a goalless draw

1 October 2022 GFA 2nd Division Challenge Cup (MD 5) Kercem Arkafort Stadium Munxar Falcons FC : 0 St Lawrence Spurs FC : 0 Munxar F: D. Galea, C. Gafa’, J.P. Grima (R. Grima), P. Parnis, A. Buttigieg, P. Debono, R. Meilak, S. Farrugia, H.F. Solis, B. Said, S. Muscat....

read more
Sannat, Oratory share the spoils

Sannat, Oratory share the spoils

30 September 2022 GFA BOV Gozo Football League Division I (MD 5) Gozo Stadium Sannat Lions FC : 2 Oratory Youths FC ; 2 19' (0-1) Haraan Hajazan Goncalves Barbosa 35’ (1-1) Sebastien Martinez Turizo 40' (1-2) Haraan Hajazan Goncalves Barbosa 84’ (2-2) Sebastien...

read more

Written by Darren Cassar

GFA Photographer and Website Admin